Skip to content

Living The SQL Life, September 2014 Edition

2014/09/11

Saturday September 6th: SQL Saturday #320 in Raleigh, NC

sqlsat320_web

Saturday September 13th: SQL Saturday #300 in Kansas City, MO

sqlsat300_web

Tuesday September 16th: PASSMN September MeetingMSPASSMNLogo

Wednesday September 24th: Presenting at MADPASS in Madison, WI

logMadPass_591x275_3

 

I have some family living in Raleigh and when I saw that they were doing a SQL Saturday again this year I realized I could kill two SPIDs with one stone. I wish I had gotten this post out before the event, but luckily they didn’t need my help in getting the word out. The event was very well organized and I was very jealous of their location at Wake Tech. They had several large classrooms mostly on a single hallway and they had some beautiful North Carolina weather, which allowed them to stage all of the registration outside. I presented my session on T-SQL refactoring for the first time to a live studio audience and it went OK. There are a couple of things I need to work on, but thanks to some heckling by fellow presenters Chris Bell (@CBellDBA) and Jason Brimhall (@sqlrnnr) I have a better idea what those things are. Doug Purnell (@sqlnikon) was there with his camera and he even got a picture of me. There is also a great picture of all the presenters and volunteers. I am hoping we can steal the group picture idea for SQLSatMN. I had a great time at this event and hope I can return next year.

If you live in the Triangle make sure this event is on your plans for next year and in the mean time you can attend the TriPass meetings on the third Tuesday of the month. It’s the same as our MN schedule so it is easy for me to remember.

This coming Saturday I will be presenting in Kansas City. It is my first year attending this event, but after being tortured last year by the delicious #sqlbbq tweets I knew I couldn’t skip it again. If you are a SQL Server professional in Kansas city this is the place to be on Saturday 9/13. I know they have filled their 400 spots for attendees, but you can still add your name to the waiting list and wait for someone else to cancel. In addition to presenting my session on TSQL Refactoring I am looking forward to attending the sessions by Bob Ward (@bobwardms), Microsoft’s CSS Principal Escalation Engineer, The Top Customer Problems: How to avoid calling Bob and Troubleshooting the Memory of SQL Server. I am also looking forward to eating some great BBQ and catching up with some #sqlfamily that I haven’t seen all summer.

You can read more about this month’s meeting on this post but just to recap, Our presenters will be Paula Merns presenting on Checklists for Better Coordination and Performance of SQL Tasks and Riley Major will give a short presentation on Correlated Concatenation with XML. Go here to RSVP for this month’s meeting.

If I had to pick another PASS chapter to belong to it would be the Madison group. I spoke at my first SQL Saturday in Madison and it was watching one of their presenters that first inspired me to start presenting. The 4.5 hour drive makes it a little difficult to get to the meetings, but I have watched a few of them on the internets over the years. So, I was happy when they asked me to come and present, but also a little nervous. I have not presented for a user group in over two years. At a SQL Saturday it is easy to get lost in the crowd and people can always walk over to the next room if your topic is not engaging them. I will do my best to keep things interesting when I present my session Twice in a Lifetime: TSQL Refactoring 101.

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

