Skip to content

Living The SQL Life, Spring 2014 Edition

2014/03/27

Saturday March 29th: SQL Saturday #287 in Madison, WIsqlsat287_web

Tuesday April 1st: PASSMN Tabletop Gaming and Pizza Night (No Foolin’)

logo

Saturday April 26th: SQL Saturday #291 in Chicago, IL

sqlsat291_web

 

Madison was the first SQL Saturday where I was a presenter. It is their third year and my third time presenting there. I am looking forward to this for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is that I get to see a lot of people I haven’t seen since October. They are in a new venue this year and they have a full house with 350 registrationsl. The lineup of speakers for this SQL Sat looks more like it was in Chicago or Seattle.  I think I counted 13 MVP’s on the schedule. I’ll be presenting on sharding data using Federations in Microsoft Windows Azure SQL Database in the Steve Jones (B|T) overflow room. The lunch options at Madison are interesting this year in addition to their Spot-of-a-Cow tables they have three sponsor sessions going on. Given my interest in Azure these days I will probably check out SQLCAT’s Chuck Heinzelman (T) talking about the Hybrid solution while I eat a Wisconsin brat.

PASSMN is sponsoring a game night and Pearson VUE has given us the use of their offices for a night of tabletop gaming. Bring a game you want to play or just show up and play what is available. Pizza will be provided. I hope to see you there. You can RSVP using EventBrite

Speaking of Chicago I’ll be doing the same presentation on sharding data using Federations in Microsoft Windows Azure SQL Database. The Chicago SQL Saturday is always great and this year it looks like they have added keynote in the morning from Ross LoForte (L) presenting on What’s New with SQL Server 2014. Ross wrote the book on SQL Server 2012 Administration so he should have some good information to share.

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

