Skip to content

Living The SQL Life, October 2013 Edition

2013/10/09

Saturday October 12th: SQL Saturday #238 in my own back yard.

sqlsat238_web

Monday October 14: I will be attending Redgate’s SQL in the City Charlotte, NC.

sqlinthecity

October 15-8: My first time attending the PASS Summit!

summit

On Saturday October 19th: I will be presenting at SQL Saturday #237 BI Edition in Charlotte, NC.

sqlsat237_web

I won’t be presenting this year at my own SQL Saturday. The main reason for this is that I was involved as a volunteer last year and I remember being so tired that I didn’t think my presentation was up to par. Also, I had the great responsibility (and fun) of selecting the speakers and organizing the schedule so it seemed a little self-serving to present. I’ve really had fun being on the board this year and getting to see the SQL Saturday planning “from the inside.” Bill Preachuk (Twitter) is the man behind SQL Saturday #238 and I’m already worried that we won’t be able to do it without him next year. This Saturday should be a great event with 40 different sessions, 400 participants and an awesome after party organized by Rick Krueger (@DataOgre|Blog) and Dave Valentine (@IngeniousSQL|Blog).

I’ve heard good things about the events RedGate has been doing. I wanted to attend last year when they came to Chicago, but it didn’t work out. I am excited about the lineup of speakers they have for this FREE event. Go check it out. I think you still have time to register, but not for long.

Words can’t say how excited I am to be attending the PASS Summit for the first time. Seriously, it is so bad that my wife and kids are making fun of me. I walk up to random people and tell them I am going to PASS Summit. I have been immersing myself in the SQL Life for the last couple of years and this is the Super Bowl for SQL Professionals. All the cool people will be there and this year so will I.

I didn’t get the honor of speaking at the Summit this year, but I feel just as honored to be selected to speak at the local SQL Saturday BI Edition. There is a power house line up with many of the Summit speakers staying an extra day to present. I will be presenting first thing in the morning a new presentation called SSIS and Azure – ETLing in the cloud.

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

