Skip to content

Living The SQL Life, Winter 2013 Edition

2013/02/20

End of last year: I switched to the consulting world and I am now an Information Management Consultant at Digineer.

digineer_Logo

Earlier this year : As of January 1, 2013 I was assigned the role of Director of Program Development for the PASSMN Board. We’re looking for a few good SQLGeeks to present.

On Saturday April 6th: I will be presenting at SQL Saturday #206 in Madison, WI.

sqlsat206_web

On Saturday April 11th: I will be presenting at SQL Saturday #211 in Chicago, IL.

sqlsat211_web

There were many things I enjoyed about my last job, but late last year I started thinking about where I wanted my career to go and I decided to accept a position at Digineer as a consultant. They offer top talent consulting for Project Management and IT in the Twin Cities and I was thrilled when they offered me a job. So far I am enjoying the consulting life and the change in roles. For the last few years I have been moving more to the Database Development and Business Intelligence side of SQL Server and my current assignment has me in more of a traditional DBA role. It has been fun getting to apply skills that I haven’t used in a while and learn some new ones. Digineer has a great corporate culture and they encourage personal growth and involvement in the technology community.

I was elected to the board of PASS MN by a landslide of no votes. I volunteered along with a couple of others, Shirley Morillo (@SQLLatina) and William Weber (@williamweber), and we filled in the three spots vacated by the leaving board members. We got together in December and assigned roles. I was lucky enough to get the Director of Program Development. So far I am loving the involvement and the task of finding speakers for our monthly meetings. I am having fun talking to people about their ideas for presentation topics and I am particularly happy about getting new speakers up behind the podium. After all this was how I started getting involved less than a year ago.

Last year when I spoke at SQL Saturday Madison it was my first time and I didn’t really know what to expect. This will be my 5th time and I am thrilled to be going back to Madison. It will always be something I remember as exciting, scary, energizing and draining. It hooked me on this whole public speaking thing and I can hardly believe how quickly the time has passed. I will be speaking on the SSIS Catalog in SQL Server 2012.

The week after Madison I will be going to Chicago to give the same SSIS Catalog presentation. I am extra psyched for this event because the PASS Business Analytics conference is the same week. While I won’t be able to attend the BA Conference I know there will be many members of the SQL Community there as a result. Chicago usually attracts a lot of talented speakers for their SQl Saturday, but with the conference the week before it should make for an amazing event. Lots of great SQL people to meet and learn from.

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

