Skip to content

Glass Half Full

2012/08/15


It is easy to complain about our jobs. Spend enough time doing something and it just can’t be wonderful all the time or probably even most of the time. Hopefully it is good some of the time or at least enough that you don’t hate getting up every day. I may not have found my dream job yet, but there are definitely things I enjoy about where I work.

1 – Location, Location, Location - I work in downtown Minneapolis and I enjoy this a lot. It means I can take the bus in to work each day and use that time to read or just turn my brain off for a little while. I’m close to some of my favorite restaurants and I am a 5 minute walk from Barnes and Noble. I also just enjoy the higher energy level that exists downtown vs. the suburbs.

2 – It’s the People - I work with some great folks and I can honestly say I like every one on my team. We may not be great friends, but we all seem to share a similar sense of humor, which is pretty amazing if you think about it.

π - The Geek Factor – There is a fair number of geeks on the team and at the company, which I didn’t realize I was lacking at previous jobs. Being able to talk about Game of Thrones, Star Trek, and math jokes while our code is compiling is great. I’ve never managed to get into sports and if you can’t talk sports at some companies people assume you are mute. I also get to be a part of the weekly game of Settlers of Catan in the lunch room. (And because playing Settlers wasn’t geeky enough a short while back we switched to the Star Trek edition.)

4 – Training Budget – While I may not always agree with how they are allocated the company I work for does have a generous training budget. For instance all of the developers on my team are going to PASS Summit this year (very generous), except for me (which brings us into an area where I disagree.) I have attended two outside training courses in the last year, which is pretty good

5 – Flexible Schedule - I am allowed to work from home when I need to and the day-to-day schedule is not micromanaged. I work 40 hours a week, but I don’t get to work the same time every day and I can shift around my schedule as needed.

#Meme15 is a monthly blogging event set up by Jason Strate (B|T) to write about something that relates to our careers, and likely to have a twinge of social networking included. The assignment for August was  – List 5 things you like about your job. (I want to thank Jason and Kevin Conan (Blog | @ConanTheCDN) for giving me a topic to start up the blog again.)

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. August #Meme15 Round-Up | Strate SQL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers