Skip to content

Living The SQL Life, Vol 1 Edition 3

2012/05/25

Saturday 6/2: I will be presenting at SQL Saturday #117 in Columbus.

Friday 6/22: SQl Friends with Jason Strate (B|T)  at Hells Kitchen (B|T). (I know this was in the last SQL Life post, but it is worth mentioning again.)

  • SQL Saturday 117, Columbus

This will be my third time presenting at a SQL Saturday in three months (April/May/June). It’s pretty amazing for me to think about when I consider that wasn’t thinking about it at the beginning of the year. I’m going to be talking about SSIS configurations again, which I think is the stronger of my two presentations so far. I think that is because I have good examples to draw from in my day job as an ETL developer. I learned a few things from the first time I presented this topic so I will be making a few tweaks, but for the most part I am glad not to be writing another presentation from scratch. I can just share my information and enjoy learning from others. It should be great. 

  • SQLFriends Lunch, Minneapolis

Minneapolis will be having our frist SQLFriends lunch on June 22nd,2012. Jason Strate (B|T) , SQL Server MVP and a Regional PASS Mentor, has agreed to be our host and promises to answer any questions you have for him SQL or otherwise. We still have a few seats left so if you are in the Twin Cities head over and sign up for a great SQL Friends lunch at the infamous Hell’s Kitchen.

If you are curious what is in store you can read Jes Borland’s thoughts about the second SQLFreinds lunch that they had in Chicago just one week ago.

Also, I’ve been working with the great folks at Hell’s Kitchen and I can share with you the menu choices for that day.

Ham and Pear Crisp  – (Featured in “America’s Best Sandwiches” cookbook) Shaved, slow-roasted smoked pit ham, poached pears, melted Swiss and Fontina cheese on spicy-sweet buttered grilled sourdough bread.

BBQ Pork Sandwich – Served on a wild rice bun with pulled, slow-roasted pork shoulder, dressed in a marriage of our northern tomato-based BBQ sauce and Eastern North Carolina vinegar-pepper marinade. Ask for a ramekin of our pickle relish, which compliments the pork perfectly. 

The Ultimate B.L.T. – Toasted sourdough bread with mayonnaise, 3 slices of thick cured bacon, crisp butter lettuce, and slabs of vine-ripened tomatoes.
 
Macaroni and Cheese – Penne noodles tossed in our rich 4-cheese cream sauce, topped with seasoned chopped-walnut bread crumbs, then baked to a golden brown.
 
Huevos Rancheros – A crisp flour tortilla with buttery hash browns, spicy black beans, soft-scrambled eggs and a 3-cheese topping, all baked to a golden brown. Topped with hand-chopped salsa and a dollop of sour cream.
 
Lemon-Ricotta Hotcakes – Three melt-in-your-mouth hotcakes made from freshly grated lemon zest and whole milk ricotta cheese. Served with fresh berries and pure maple syrup…but try your first bite without it!
 
(FYI those last three options are vegetarian)

From → SQL Server

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 710 other followers